P76: Postcard from Bondi

by Popboomerang



Late nineties Melbourne indie pop favourites P76 have returned just in time for summer with their first recorded output in 16 years.
Starting out in Melbourne’s underground venues of the day like the Punters Club and Public Bar, P76 shot to prominence quickly after signing to USA label Zip Records and releasing a pair of shimmering jangle pop EPs.

Their 2001 long player ‘Into the sun’—produced by legendary Australian pop merchant Dom Mariani (The Stems, DM3)—went on to sell strongly worldwide and spawned the Triple J favourites “Sleeping in” and “Me & her, the road and our EJ”.

The band entered into a long hiatus in 2002 with singer-songwriter Danny McDonald going on to release a steady stream of solo records while working with bands like Oscarlima, Little Murders and Stoneage Hearts.

After remaining dormant for 16 years apart from a brief return to the stage in 2013, the band has recently emerged from hibernation with a run of Victorian shows, new material and a new single ready for release on Friday 3 November.

The new single “Postcard from Bondi” is a welcome return with the band’s unique summer-tinged guitar pop sound still intact, but with a new songwriting maturity.

Produced by friend of the band and labelmate Nick Batterham (The Earthmen), ‘Postcard from Bondi’ is a strewn-together collage of mid-80’s lyrical imagery evoking the Australian summer like few others can.


Postcard from Bondi

(D. McDonald, 2017)

Weathered terylene
Wagtails in a loquat tree
Fraying trampoline
Scoria rock and street machines

Chipping concrete kangaroos
Through the amber hues
And a postcard from Bondi

Summer by the sea
Fibro marinara scene
Down at bowling green
A sleeping dog on the nature strip

Two-stroke lawn and barbecues
Honey sheoak moon
And a postcard from Bondi


released November 5, 2017
Written by Danny McDonald (Perfect Pitch Publishing)

Produced and engineered by Nick Batterham in Melbourne, October 2017

Danny McDonald - Vocals and guitars
Tim Mills - Bass Guitar
Geoff Barnes - Drums

With Nick Batterham - Guitar, organ, backing vocals


all rights reserved



Popboomerang Australia

Australian music label founded by Scott Thurling and releasing its first CD in 2002 with over 80 recordings to date.

Specialising in melodic pop, jangle, folk and rock and predominantly working with Australian bands with the aim to building their careers locally & internationally.

Artists include Skipping Girl Vinegar, Georgia Fields, The Aerial Maps, Celadore, Bon Scotts, Tamas Wells & Tim Reid
... more

contact / help

Contact Popboomerang

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code