(PB019) Murphy's Lore: The Universe Conspires

by Popboomerang

  • Digital Album
    Streaming + Download

    Behind the scenes of one of Australia's great emerging talents, is the story of a hard working band formed by three brothers who wanted nothing more than to play good music together.

    The three Murphy brothers formed the band Murphy's Lore in 1991, enlisting their cousin Jae Rowbotham on bass and guitarist Brad Harding, the band began performing their own material around the South West WA region.

    Winning acclaim for their excellent vocals and prodigious musicianship, Murphy's Lore began working regularly at functions, fairs, open days and then in hotels as early as 1993 when Courtney was still just 13. The band won the 1993 School Music Awards for the song 'Wait For Me', a feat which garnered much attention from local media. Harding decided to leave the group at the end of the year & was replaced by Clayton Bolger.

    In 1995, the group began work on their first album 'People In Grass Houses', 12 original tracks written over the course of 2-3 years. Still only aged between 15-19, the album was well received and scored some minor airplay internationally. The album, now long out of print, often changes hands between collectors for ridiculous amounts of money.

    Spurred by this new success, the group moved to Perth mid-1996 where they consolidated their reputation as one of WA's best up and coming acts. After over four years of constant gigging, Jae decided to quit the group in July 1998 when he was struck by illness & was replace by seasoned Perth musician Shaun Street.

    It had been over four years since 'People In Grass Houses' and the growth of musicianship and song writing within the band led them to record the follow up. Recorded over three months in 1999, 'Best Laid Plans' showed their strengths as songwriters, showcasing an eclectic mix of modern mainstream pop influenced by The Beatles, Ben Folds Five, Jellyfish, Crowded House and The Badloves. Released in February 2000, the album brought the group to the attention of producers of Channel 9's Star Struck, flying the boys across to Melbourne to compete in August, with the show airing nationally in July 2001. Having been played on US college radio and reviewed in fanzines across the world, the band has cultivated a small international following, selling copies of their albums in Poland, Japan, the UK and US.

    When the dust settled from the aftermath of 'Best Laid Plans', the band eagerly set about recording the follow-up album in September 2002. Armed with a variety of song styles, tight performances and their trademark layered vocals, the new album 'under the new band name The Rhymes The Universe Conspires' showed a band mature enough to steer their own ship.

    Around this time long serving member Clayton Bolger left the group, opting out of the band's tours to Singapore and a hard life on the road. Stunned by Clayton's absence, the band refused to replace him for over 18 months carrying on as a four piece until Jason Smith, who kept turning up to gigs with his guitar, could no longer be ignored. The Rhymes launched 'The Universe Conspires' in Dec 2002 before a series of return shows in Singapore and more studio work, sidetracked them for most of 2003.

    The new album was selling well when Courtney entered Channel Ten's 'Australian Idol' in mid-2004, becoming one of the most recognisable faces and voices in Australia almost overnight. His talent, garnered him praise not only from the viewing public who embraced his soulful performances and quick wit, but from industry leaders, becoming one of the hardest working Idol's following the competition.

    Fast forward two years & Chris Murphy repeated Courtney's journey by finishing in 4th place in the 2006 Australian Idol series. Which brings us up to date with the band (reclaiming the original Murphy's Lore moniker) teaming with Independent label Popbomerang to re-release 'The Universe Conspires' to a much wider audience.
    ... more
    Purchasable with gift card

      $5 AUD  or more

    You own this


  • Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    Also includes immediate download of 15 track album in your choice of 320k mp3, FLAC, or just about any other format you could possibly desire.
    ships out within 2 days

      $10 AUD or more 

    You own this  


  • Full Digital Discography Full Digital Discography

    Purchasable with gift card

      $102.60 AUD or more (80% OFF)

    You own this




released January 1, 2000


all rights reserved



Popboomerang Australia

Australian music label founded by Scott Thurling and releasing its first CD in 2002 with over 80 recordings to date.

Specialising in melodic pop, jangle, folk and rock and predominantly working with Australian bands with the aim to building their careers locally & internationally.

Artists include Skipping Girl Vinegar, Georgia Fields, The Aerial Maps, Celadore, Bon Scotts, Tamas Wells & Tim Reid
... more

contact / help

Contact Popboomerang

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code